Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Visa Questions

AufenthG Extension / Change into a "Green Card"

Toggle
Hello,
I have been working in Germany for 2 years, and my contract was extended for 2 more years (total of 4). The company I work for, requested the extension of my Aufenthaltserlaubnis AufenthG for the 2 extra years of my contract, but I only got the extension for 1 more year, the feedback we get is that this kind of visa can only be used a max. of 3 years. My questions are the following:

+ Is there a way to change the visa, in order to get a kind of "Green Card" so to be able to extend 2 or 3 more years?.
+ Currently, my "AufenthG" has the restriction that I must work with the same company, is there a way I can get a visa extension in which I am independant from the company Im working with?.

Thank you in advance for any useful information...
0 (0 Votes)

Re: AufenthG Extension / Change into a "Green Card"
Answer
3/18/05 8:13 AM as a reply to Mario Munoz Lara.
Try to keep your current job with visa you have. After 36 Months of paying pension contributions (=receiving salary) you can according to § 9 BeschVerfV get work permit which is not connected any more to company.

But if you are really eager to do something now, try to consult lawyer, perhaps they can help you.
0 (0 Votes)

Answer
3/18/05 11:53 AM as a reply to Mario Munoz Lara.
"the feedback we get is that this kind of visa can only be used a max. of 3 years."

I know few things about ZuwG, more than lots of Beamters, but I never heard of any kind of visa that can only be used a max. of 3 years.

I would say it is just another Beamter that can not read.