Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Visa Questions

Pre-approval Document for Regular Work Permit

Hi everyone,

I am an IT developer from Asia that was given a job offer from a company in Stuttgart. I had my degree assessment from ZAB and they say that my degree is not recognized. Hence, I dont qualify for a blue card even though my profession and salary offer fits the requirements.

Now I am aiming for a regular work permit.

My employer sent me a pre-approval document from the Federal Employment Agency in Stuttgart and it contains the following clause:

Bemerkung:
Diese Vorabzustimmung wird unter der bedingung erteilt, dass die Auslandsvertretung die Vergleichbarkeit des nachgewiesenen auslandischen Hochschulabschulesses mit einem inlandischen Hochschulavschluss im visum-verfahren feststellen wird.

This roughly translates that approval/consent is given as long as my degree is recognised. I have talked with other visa applicants in my country that has non-recognized degree, that they were denied on the visa via the embassy because of this paragraph on the preapproval document. This is stated on their rejection letter.

On the other hand, I have talked with another visa applicant here and he said that his degree is NOT recognised too (same result as mine from ZAemoticon but he was approved on the visa application. His pre-approval document does NOT contain the "recognised degree" clause and got his visa stamped within 2 days.

I raised this at my employer and they called the local federal employment agency. The agency replied that this clause is based on "