Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Visa Questions

Family Reunion Vs Student Visa

Toggle
Family Reunion Vs Student Visa
Answer
7/1/15 10:40 AM
Hi all,

I am from Pakistan and I am married. I have an offer from a PhD program in Frankfurt. Since I am married, I would like my wife to accompany me to Germany or join me there. So I am considering different options: 

1. Family Reunion Visa
I have read in this forum that it can be tricky to get a family reunion visa if one is on a student visa. My biggest concern here is about showing adequate funds to support my wife. Although I will be receiving a stipend but it will vary from semester to semester. On average I will be getting 1150 euros per month. So I am not sure whether this amount is sufficient. 

2. Student Visa
My wife recently got an offer from a master's program. The program matches her interests and background in medicine and health sciences. So we are thinking that maybe she should apply for a student visa right now with me. Here we are concerned that our student visas might be refused since both husband and wife are applying to travel to Germany and that weakens our ties with Pakistan. 

We are not clear on what to do in this situation. Any help would be great! Thank you.
0 (0 Votes)

RE: Family Reunion Vs Student Visa
Answer
7/1/15 11:54 AM as a reply to Hamza Zahid.