Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Visa Questions

getting NE

Toggle
getting NE
Answer
1/6/09 3:06 PM
I am in Germany for 7 years now (from 2001 Nov). I was doing my Phd in the first 4 years in a research institute. My job status was wissenschaftliche mitarbeiter and i was paying all the required taxes and rente right from the beginning. My visa status during that period was Aufenthaltsbewilligung. I finished my Phd and currently I work as a wissenschaftliche mitarbeiter in another research institute for the last 3 years. When I went to extend my visa, they changed the status to aufenthaltserlaubnis. In 2007 I went to the 'amt für öffentliche ordnung' to change my visa status to NE thinking that I had been in Germany for more than 5 years and paid above 60 months rente, the declined to change that saying that period during the "Aufenthaltsbewilligung" doesn't count for NE!! Is it right? Somewhere in the forum one of the user has commented that Aufenthaltsbewilligung is also counted for NE provided that I have paid the 60 months rente. It was a comment from 2004, is it still valid? Could anyone sent me an official link where I can find the actual rule. I think the authorities are simply digging up some crap rules to discourage people from going for NE. Thanks in advance
0 (0 Votes)

Re: getting NE
Answer
1/6/09 4:14 PM as a reply to Rajesh Sadanandan.
http://www.aufenthaltstitel.de/aufenthaltsg.html#9
http://www.aufenthaltstitel.de/aufenthaltsg.html#9b
0 (0 Votes)

Answer
1/6/09 4:16 PM as a reply to Rajesh Sadanandan.