Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Visa Questions

Visa Regulations for NON GC and Spouse

Umschalten
Hello everyone,
I have a few questions to which I really would appreciate some answers. Anyone who has any information on this matter is heartily thanked for providing it.
I am currently living in Japan (has been for about 10 years). I have a PhD in Physics and was recently offered a PostDoc position (BATII/a). My interest in this offer based purely on academic considerations is undeniable. However, leaving a country I know well to country I don’t really know (visited Germany only 4 times) is a bit daunting. My questions are:
1. What is the type of visa I will be getting, if anyone knows? I know that with the old regulation I did not need a work permit as stated on the MPI page. With the new law however things have changed and I am not so sure.
2. What is the status of the spouse in the case of a scientific position? I have read the new Immigration Act, and there is a stipulation that my wife can get work but subject to the same restrictions as I. It is however these restrictions that I don’t understand. Also it is stipulated that after 2 year residence my wife can get unrestricted work permit. Is this correct? Even in the case of a scientific position?
3. After my contract limit (3 years) is finished can I extend my stay in case I find suitable job?

Anybody with a similar situation or experience is heartily invited to share his/her thoughts.

Thank you very much
0 (0 Stimmen)

Re: Visa Regulations for NON GC and Spouse
Antwort
13.01.05 14:40 als Antwort auf hicham fadil.
1. you will get RP for studium.
2. i am not sure