Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Integration

wissenschaftlicher mitarbeiter TVL-1372

Toggle
wissenschaftlicher mitarbeiter TVL-1372
Answer
7/24/09 11:25 PM
Hi,
I am a PhD student with a salary as wissenschaftlicher mitarbeiter (half position). My current visa is under §16 as a student. However a friend of mine, under the similar situation has a §18 working residence.
Does anybody know why one get this and one gets that? Do we have an influence on which we are given? Can a laywer help in getting §18?
Thanks
0 (0 Votes)

Re: wissenschaftlicher mitarbeiter TVL-1372
Answer
7/24/09 11:51 PM as a reply to Kamran H.
Hi,

residence permits wrt AufenthG §16 are given only to the people who are students. Even PhD. Even doing diploma thesis or research in the private companies cannot change this permit. As long as you are registered as a student in a university (or an academic education program) in Germany, you can get only §16: http://www.aufenthaltstitel.de/aufenthaltsg.html#16

Residence permits wrt AufenthG §18 are given only to the people who are not students any more, and who is doing a high-qualification job (e.g. engineering).

In order to get §18 permit, your PhD study must be finished (you abort it or you get a grade). You shall not be registered to a school/institute/university any more, where you are having an academic education. Only after this, application for a permit in Arbeitsamt and Ausländerbehörde will give you §18 permit.

Klenze17.
0 (0 Votes)

Answer
7/27/09 11:11 PM as a reply to Kamran H.