Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Integration

Importance of university reputation in job market

Toggle
Hi all

I am an Electrical Engineer interested in getting a MSc degree in Germany, and ultimately working in Germany in the area of renewable energies (preferably in a research institute or in an engineering firm), but I need some help here:

Based on research reputation (as given in CHE's ranking), my preferred Unis to apply for were: RWTH Aachen, TU Munich and TU Darmstadt. But due to the application deadlines I will only be able to apply to TU Darmstadt, Uni Magdeburg, Uni Paddenborn and FH Aachen.

In Germany is it important the research reputation of the University one got his degree in the job market?
Do the big companies (like Siemens or Fraunhofer-Institute) only hire engineers from the best Unis or not?

I would appreciate any comments or experience regarding this issue.

Cheers!
Javier
0 (0 Votes)

Re: Importance of university reputation in job market
Answer
4/24/12 12:21 AM as a reply to Javier A.
From my experience, in Germany the university name does not play such a big role like to for example in USA.

Of course that there is difference between Fachhochschule and univerity. But the difference is mostly for salary ranking. And after few years and with gaining experience and proving yourself the difference is being minimized. Between the univiersities or Fachhochule themselves the difference for employers is small .