Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Help needed!

Job Interviews in Germany

Toggle
Job Interviews in Germany
Answer
5/30/14 6:51 PM
Hello All,

I'am currently into the job market and looking forward to start my career in Germany. I graduated from a German FH. I have worked for couple of years before I came to Germany. I'am currently applying for jobs in the same industry but not exactly the same profile what I'am experienced in.

I have sent <100 applications and attended 6 interviews so far.I'am going to attend the 7th one. I'am pretty lost and confused trying to do a self-assessment and trying to understand what went wrong in the previous six interviews.

Some points which I would like to highlight are :

1. Relevance : None of them were exact matching positions.For most of the positions, the employers were trying to correlate my previous experience to their requirement.

2. Questions :There were no technical questions. There were just general HR questions and expected compensation.

3. Language skills : Apart from 2 companies with business language as German,all other were either American MNCs having design centers in Germany and German companies operating globally.So most of them were not particular about language. Although they asked if I wanted the discussion to be in English or German. I opted for English.

4.I never found a reliable source of information regarding the compensation standards. I believe I always messed up this question.

5. The next one is also not 100% matching,but the guy liked my Thesis and the work profile matches my thesis work to a great extent.