Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Visa Questions

German Citizenship

Toggle
German Citizenship
Answer
2/25/15 10:50 AM
Dear All, 

I am a Scientist and woring at the TU -berlin (from India). I have stayed in Germany for 11 years and 5 months (did my PhD here and then post doctoral work)  and have payed taxes for 7.7 months. However, since I knew only basic german, I did not apply for permanent residency or citizenship. 

Now I have attended B1 course at the goethe institute and can speak better (good for B1 level). 

My question is : 1.  Do I have to have Permanent residency for German citizenship? or I can just directly apply for citizenship

2. Do i have to take integration course ? I have lived here already more than 11 years and someone told me that if you stay more than 8 years i do not need it

Please help me our here. 

Thanks a lot.
0 (0 Votes)

RE: German Citizenship
Answer
2/25/15 7:18 PM as a reply to Prashanth Menezes.
I will try to answer as much as I know.

To start you can check the following link which contains information about laws concerning naturalisation:
http://www.gesetze-im-internet.de/rustag/BJNR005830913.html

I believe you can also find an English version of this if you search google, and also more information if you google Staatsangehoerigkeitsgesetz. Anyways,

1. You don't need PR, but you need to be on certain residence permits. You cannot apply if you have a residence permit per section 16 or 20, which scientists sometimes have. You can apply with section 18 and several others, including Blue Card.