Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Visa Questions

Beschäftigung erlaubt_PhD_ALG

Toggle
Beschäftigung erlaubt_PhD_ALG
beshäftigung erlaubt phd alg
Answer
12/4/14 12:46 AM
Hello everyone,
I am a PhD student and had a work contract for 3 years and have paid all the taxes as per german laws. Now I am towards the end of my PhD work and wanted to apply for ALG. I have my visa valid until October, 2015. But I was told by Arbeitsagentur that I am not eligible for ALG because I have a student visa. I wanted to know if it is now possible to change my visa class from student to 'Beschäftigung erlaubt' or some other class so that I can get ALG? Does anyone had a similar experience? Please help...
0 (0 Votes)

RE: Beschäftigung erlaubt_PhD_ALG
Answer
12/4/14 4:32 AM as a reply to Meenakshi Rana.
u can apply for job search visa.. they would probabbly give u 1 year.
0 (0 Votes)

Answer
12/4/14 10:53 AM as a reply to Wim Hannover.
Thank u for your answer. But for the job search visa I think I would need a degree from a german university which I don't have now. I will finish my PhD in 3-4 months. But my contract is ending in DEcember, 2014. But I have a student visa until October, 2015. I needed ALG during this period. I have paid all the taxes and so...But since I have this student visa it does not work.
0 (0 Votes)

Answer
12/4/14 11:14 AM as a reply to Meenakshi Rana.
Hi,

the problem is that as a student you have to pay some salary taxes, but no social security things, like unemployment insurance payments.

So if you do not pay for it, how you can expect unemployment money?