Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Visa Questions

Break during study visa

Toggle
Break during study visa
Answer
1/31/10 10:55 PM
Dear All,

I was a student here for three years. Just days before my visa was going to expire, I left for India, without applying for extension, though I was eligible for it. It is totally insane, I regret now, but I was of the opinion that I can extend my visa in India also. So when I contacted the German Embassy in India, I came to know that I cannot extend my visa in India. It was too late to come back and get my visa extension done in Germany. So I had to apply for a new Schengen visa in India and then get the proper study visa again after coming back to Germany. All this took about four months.

Recently when I was enquiring about Niederlassungserlaubnis, I was told by the Ausländerbehörde that my three years of study cannot be considered for Niederlassungserlaubins as I had a break in my visa, which makes that whole period null and void. It was very hard to hear that. But in the following link in forum, I read in one of the replies that if the duration of stay outside Germany is less than six months, then the previous period of stay shall still be considered:
http://www.trust7.com/en/foren/visa_questions/urgent_work_permit_independent_of_employer

It gives me some hope. But I would like to know if this special case is valid for work visa only, or can study visa be also considered along the same line?