Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Visa Questions

Need serious advice about moving to Germany (residence / work permit)

Toggle
My name is Wenera and I currently live in the US. A long time ago we lived in Germany as refugees in a town called Worms, and we are thinking of returning. Originally my family is from Albania and we lived there because of the war. My husband's brother who lives in Germany wants us to move to Germany for good, but we don't know what our chances are for getting a residence permit. He is VERY optimistic, while I am very pessimistic, seeing as I don't have a college degree.

I work as a dental technician here and although I do have certification along with 9+ years of work experience, I doubt this will help me much in Germany as far as getting a job is concerned. I need help and advice as to what we can do in order to get the Aufenthaltserlaubnis to stay in Germany. We are US citizens and hold US passports. It would be me, my husband, and our 22 year old daughter.

What are our options? I keep hearing how it is very difficult to get a work permit, etc. Since this relative of ours has alot of money, is there any way he could help us by forming a company or something, and then requesting a work permit? Also, if I got a work permit and Aufenthaltserlaubnis, would my husband and daughter get to stay as well? Daughter is 22 years old.