Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Meeting the World!

Selling software

Toggle
Selling software
Answer
1/11/06 8:42 PM
Hi,

I have been working in Germany with green card for more than two years. There are some software that
I developed before coming to Germany. I am told
at Auslaenderamt that if I want to sell the software I need to have "Selbsteandige Erwerbstaetigkeit gestattaet" in my passport. This should, however, be the case if I sell licenses regularly (i.e. if I turn selling this software to a businness).

My question is whether I can sell the source code and entire copyright? For me it is similar to selling ones house or car. Software is my belonging so I should be able to sell it emoticon
Does anybody here have an idea or experience on this?
0 (0 Votes)

Re: Selling software
Answer
1/12/06 12:37 AM as a reply to tugkan calapoglu.
What your Ausländeramt told you is correct.

Whatever you do, and how, if you want to make money from what you have "sold", you must get the permit Selbständige Erwerbstätigkeit gestattet. I am sure you won't want to sell it just "once". Since it's software, it'll be easy for you to prepare copies and to sell several people.

This doesn't have to do with licenses. In both cases (in both of your paragraphs above) you want to sell something. Selling, means, you have to give receipt to whom you sell something, or you must have a booking work. To give an official receipt, you must have self-employed permission.

Even in Döner kiosks in Germany people give receipt, for what they sell. I am talking about repetitive sales, not once.