Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Visa Questions

Visa for wife when husband is on student visa.

Toggle
Greetings everyone!

I am an engineer from India working in a MNC for over 3.5 years. I have chosen to study further in Germany (MSc in Engineering). However, I am married and I want to take my wife with me to Germany. My wife has "Master of Arts - English" degree (don't know if education of spouse matters). I can take care of the expenses (such as housing, insurance etc.) for my wife by myself. I searched the official German visa website but did not find any valueable information about "dependent visa on a student visa". I have following questions with me:

1. Is it allowed for a student to take a dependent (wife) with him to Germany while he is on a student visa?
2. If 1 is yes, then how? What is the visa procedure and what are the pre-requisites? (proof of income? German language requirements? etc.)
3. If 1 is no, what are the alternate options? (I don't want to stay away from my wife for 2 years :-( )
4. Can my wife work while she is in Germany (while I am on student visa)? If yes, are there are restrictions on working? (for example, similar those present for student visa)

Can some one please help me out?

Thanks in advance.
ENGINEMK
0 (0 Votes)

Re: Visa for wife when husband is on student visa.
Answer
6/6/11 3:57 PM as a reply to M K.