Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Help needed!

yet another driving license/buying car questions

Toggle
Hi,

Yet another questions regarding GDL, buying car and insurance, please dont get angry emoticon

My situation:

* Since April 2003, I am a Masters student at Uni Magdeburg.
* I am moving to Mainz next week for fulltime Job; GC starts from 1st September.
* With basic German knowledge, I would like to get GDL and buy a car!

As far as I have searched, it seems that the process is like this:

1) German translation of Indian Driving License.
2) Eye test certificate.

-> Where I can get this certificate?

-> Any other tests?

3) Finding a fahrschule nearby my area and registering for license.

-> Can I take the theoritical exam in English? If yes, is there a site to buy the english materials?

-> Do I need the help of driving school for theory exam? Or Is it enough just to read the materials?

4) Taking practical exam.
5) Buying a 4 seated used car.

-> What is the difference between buying a used car and renting it?

-> Is autoscout.de a good option? Does it have any provision(like immobilienscout24.de)?

-> My budget is 1500 to 2000€.

6) Insurance.

-> what is TUV? what does 100% (or whatever %) car insurance means?

-> I saw small engine cars have less insurance amount! What actually is "small engine cars" and Is that true?

-> If I buy a car, say for 1500€ what and how much expenses do I need to spend for the car?

Thank you guys for this wonderful forum.
0 (0 Votes)

Re: yet another driving license/buying car questions
Answer
8/12/05 11:45 AM as a reply to Jagadeesan Balakrishnan.