Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Help needed!

Tax returns & Accomodation

Toggle
Tax returns & Accomodation
Answer
6/25/05 8:00 PM
Hi,

I am a masters student in Germany. I am going to work as an IT Professional in Mainz from September 2005. Initial contract is for 1 year; salary is 3500€ for the first 6 months and 3800€ for the next 6 months.

I would like to know approx. how much tax I've to pay!? Assuming that I'll be working in Germany for the next three years only, will the tax amount will be refunded? Is there any English websites that explains German tax system?

Also I am looking for accomodation(single room/apartment) in Mainz or Mainz-Gonsenheim areas. Thanks for any help. emoticon

- Jagdeesan Balakrishnan.
0 (0 Votes)

Re: Tax returns & Accomodation
Answer
6/27/05 1:41 PM as a reply to Jagadeesan Balakrishnan.
"I would like to know approx. how much tax I've to pay!?"

with that income - ca. 21-22%

"Assuming that I'll be working in Germany for the next three years only, will the tax amount will be refunded?"

no. although if you will work in Germany in the last year less than 6 months, then yes - for the last year

"Is there any English websites that explains German tax system?"

probably, but it's very likely that the info will be far from complete. German tax system is very complicated. example: i have one book, it's commentary to german income tax - 2538 pages of very small text with lots of abbreviations
0 (0 Votes)

Answer
6/27/05 1:48 PM as a reply to Jagadeesan Balakrishnan.
Thank you for the reply.