Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Visa Questions

Spouse visa (is there any way to solve this problem?)

Toggle
Dear all,

I am living in Germany since November 1999. I completed my Master's degree in Comp. Science and Comm. Eng. in Nov. 2001. Since March 2002, I am working for the Phd degree in Germany in the field of wireless communications . When I started as a Phd candidate, I got a job contract of two years (01.03.02-29.02.04) and it was called BAT-IIa and my visa (Aufenthaltsbewilligung) was also of two years. In my visa it was written that the work permit is given for carrying out Phd research at the University. So, later on 18.08.03, I got married and my wife applied for family reunion visa from Kathmandu, Nepal on 01.10.03. After submitting all the documents to Ausländerbehörde from here and after a long waiting time of 2-1/2 months, they rejected my wife's application for visa. The basic reason for visa rejection was that my PhD research is not funded by a scholarship programme, although I had a job contract.

From 01.05.04, the University changed the type of my job contract from BAT-IIa to C1 (Beamtenverhältnisse) which ends at 30.04.07(3 years). My new visa (Aufenthaltsbewilligung) is now valid up to next three years and in my visa it is written that the work permission is given for working as a scientific assistent at the university.