Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Help needed!

Freelance out of UK but resident in De...

Good evening,

Can I please outline a scenario and invite informed feedback...

I'm a UK national currently resident in the UK and working freelance for UK based clients. I'm married to a German national who is currently resident in the UK and we have two young children.

We would like to move to Germany and I will continue to work freelance for my UK clients.

From my research so far:

There is a double taxation treaty between the UK & De (Germany), which essentially says that UK income would be taxed in the UK and any De income would be taxed in De.

Tax returns in both UK & De would be required, 
For the De tax return, all world wide income needs to be declared but it doesn’t get taxed, Your complete world wide income is used to calculate the rate of tax you will pay in De on your De income... Now what I haven’t determined yet from my research is how this effects the personal allowance for a De tax return? Do I still retain my full tax free allowance on De income or does the foreign income reduce the allowance on my De income? Other factors to note are the option to combine a married couples allowance in De, this would be an attractive option should I start working for De clients. Also the other way around, If  I was to earn Income in De, would this reduce my tax free allowance in the UK?
Social Security is the next tricky detail to sort...
I believe the definition that would define me is ‘EU cross boarder commuter’