Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Integration

Driving License Query.

Toggle
Driving License Query.
Answer
3/6/06 4:16 PM
Hello everyone,

I’m completing 6 months in Germany in a few days, which means that the driving license from my home country becomes invalid here. I have been driving here since the past 4 months or so.

My integration course starts later this month only. And, I have very little knowledge of German and therefore, cannot communicate effectively as of yet. So, I would like to know is it possible (recommended) to take all the tests etc. in English? Is there anything special I need to be aware of before registering? Any website for more details?

Many thanks.

Joshua
0 (0 Votes)

Re: Driving License Query.
Answer
3/6/06 5:02 PM as a reply to Joshua SJ.
Yes, you can do your complete DL in english, but it will be a bit costly than if u do it in german. So find a DL-School near your place and enquire. All DL Schools have a standard rate so it should be no problem.
0 (0 Votes)

Answer
3/7/06 10:46 AM as a reply to Joshua SJ.
Thanks for the info.

Joshua.
0 (0 Votes)

Answer
3/9/06 3:16 AM as a reply to Joshua SJ.
Hi,

For driving license, there are two ways for you, go through regular or through converting the license.

Anyhow you need

1. Registering with driving school
2. Red cross first aid course
3. Eye test.
4. Theory course ( optional )
5. Practice driving 15-20 hours or more as you like ( optional )
6. Theory test ( english also possible )
7. Driving test

Now above optional things can be avoided, if you want to transfer your license. But other things are required