Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Integration

VAT filing for freelancer

Alternar
VAT filing for freelancer
Respuesta
16/10/12 14:44
Hello,

I have been working as a freelancer in Munich since May 2011. I invoice my agency every month and they pay me the amount PLUS 19% VAT. 
I have hired a steuerberatur for two things :
1. Pay or forward the VAT I received on my invoice to the Finanzamt.
2. Annual income tax filing.

For (1), my steuerberatur charges 120 Euro (including VAT) every month.
For (2), he charges around 850 Euro including VAT once a year.

I feel he is charging me a lot and there is surely room for some saving. Many of my german colleagues told me I could do (1) very easily on my own as it does not involve too many calculations. It simply involves VAT received from my employer minus VAT I paid for business related purchases. 
The theory is fine. But the question is how do I go about it. My target is to start filing monthly VAT on my own. That alone will save me 1500 odd Euros a year. Lot of money isn't it? 

Regards,
Tejas
0 (0 Votos)

RE: VAT filing for freelancer
Respuesta
18/10/12 7:52 en respuesta a TEJAS SHETH.
Hi, I have been working as a freelancer since March 2006 and I would have given you exactly the same advice as your colleagues. It's better to let your tax consultant do (2) as it involves many calculations and some rules and regulations you don't want to mess with (I ended up paying nearly 10K of back taxes for 2007, 2008 and 2009 because I missed some of them)