Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Visa Questions

Visa extension-PhD student

Alternar
Visa extension-PhD student
Respuesta
8/09/11 18:51
I am a PhD student, worked here in a Research center for 4 years. Now my work contract end this month end and no possibility of further extension. But I need 6 more months to finish my dissertation. My visa is also expiring this month.I came here for my master degree and finished it in 2007. I have been living here in germany for 9 years.

I have already paid 60 months of DRV(12 months during master course+ 48 months during PhD).
I have beschaeftigungserlaubnis as “Beschäftigung jeder Art gestattet. Selbständige Erwerbstätigkeit nur mit Genehmigung der Ausländerbehörde gestattet” in my visa. &

Anmerkungen as §18. Abs.4 S.1 Aufenthg.

I urgently need some details:
First, how can I extend my visa ? For how many months at the maximum possible?

Did I am eligible for applying ALG?.

If, what I have to do next. Since I am living here with my wife, I really confused. Please some one can help me to get out these issues.
Hope you can understand my situation.
I would greatly appreciate if you could answer my queries at the earliest.

Thank you
0 (0 Votos)

Re: Visa extension-PhD student
Respuesta
8/09/11 20:12 en respuesta a Jack adams.
If you need time to finish your phd dissertation, a letter from your supervisor (institute head/professor) can fetch you an extension.
however, how you may support your family during that time would still be a question for the visa extension authorities.