Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Visa Questions

Niederlassungserlaubnis für Hochqualifizierte, arbeitlosengeld

Umschalten
Hello all,

I have been living in germany since July2005. I came here as a PhD student (in biology) and I finished my PhD in March2009. Officially this is a half time time job but I get the normal salary with all the deductions for insurance, tax, social insurance, arbeitlosengeld etc...

From April2009 onwards I am working as a post doctoral fellow in University. This is a full time job and I pay a huge tax and other insurance stuffs. The salary altogether comes around 3500 euro per month , without tax.

The problem is : My job contract ends in this April 2010. I dont have a visa after April. I am searching for other jobs in germany and applying. So far I didnt get any position and I applied to the arbeitlosengeld. But the arbeitsamt say I have to show a valid visa from May inorder to get the arbeitlosengeld.

Then I went to the foreign office in Bonn to ask about the ' Niederlassungserlaubnis für Hochqualifizierte ', but the person in the office was not so friendly and he doesnt know anything regarding phd or postdoc ( or may be he just acts like that). He didnt consider the word 'Hochqualifizierte', and said I can apply to Niederlassungserlaubnis only after July2010.