Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Visa Questions

RE: Possibly faulty Zusatzblatt on my blue card?

Hello,

This is my first post here. I registered here, because people recommended me this forum as a place where i can get good information. I moved to Berlin Germany 6 months ago, because i found a good job. I work as a software development. I am not from EU (Serbia).
When i got here i heard about the blue card and applied for it. Because my salary is a little bit less than 44800 euros before granting me my Blue Card, AusaenderBehoerde sent my papers to ArbeitsAmt (or whatever the name of that institution  is).
They promptly responded that my occupation is one listed in the shortage list so i was granted a Blue Card.
However with my blue card i have gotten a Zusatzblatt saying exactly this in the Nebenbestimmungen:
"BESCHAFTIGUNG NICHT GESTATTET MIT AUSNAHME DER TATIGKEIT ALS SOFTWARE ENGINEER BEI <name of my company> SELBSTSTANDIGE TATIGKEIT GESTATTET." ( i missed some umlauts, sorry about that i dont have them on my keyboard).

So the thing that confuses me is why is my blue card limited to just my company? Doesn't that defeat the purpose of the blue card? Especially since 4 people from my company asked for Blue Card, and all got it, but without this restriction for the company. to them is says something like:
"BESCHAFTIGUNG NICHT GESTATTET MIT AUSNAHME DER TATIGKEIT ALS SOFTWARE
ENGINEER".