Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

FAQ and important Links!

RE: German Citizenship

Toggle
German Citizenship
Answer
7/25/13 2:12 PM
Hallo,

I have a query related to German citizenship. I came to Germany in October, 2004. I studied my Masters in English and was here till April, 2007 (appro. 3.5 yrs) and then moved to the Netherlands on the basis of other job. I was in the Netherlands for 2.5 years and paid taxes there. I moved again back to Germany in October, 2010 and it is almost three years that i am paying taxes here. On the basis of new rule (18b), i have received my permanent residence permit. In total, i have paid taxes for about 3 years in Germany and in the Netherlands 2.5 years.

Can i apply for German citizenship now. Or do i have to wait for atleast 3 more years to apply for citizenship. Do they count my time only from 2010 or do they also take into account my previous time in germany (or) as well as the Netherlands time period?

Is it compulsory for me to do an integration course and write an exam for German citizenship? I mean can i prepare on my own and write B1 exam? 

It would be very nice if anyone of you can help me in answering this query or you may provide a thread where i can post this question.

thank you
0 (0 Votes)

Answer
7/25/13 2:48 PM as a reply to Bas Brem.
You are eligible for citizenship only on October 2018 and if you do the Integration course then you can become eligible in October 2017 but the the citizenship process with Integration course takes longer time as its decided by state government so you can only expect it by 2018.