Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Visa Questions

RE: Problem in Study Visa Extension due to 10 Years Rule

Toggle
Dear Friends,

Out of desperation I am posting this thread and with a hope to get some helpful infos. First of all a brief history about my particular case:
I have been studying in Germany for the last 8 years on Aufenthaltserlaubnis (§16), this tenure covers the initial German language course (6 months), Studienkolleg (1year), Diploma Pharmacy (changed after 6 months), Bachelors (3 years), Masters (2 years) and 8 months of my current PhD. All these degrees have been completed in proposed duration without even taking any extra semester with excellent grades. Now the Ausländerbehörde denies to extend my visa, since they claim that my PhD will take more than 2 years crossing the maximum student visa limit of 10 years (6 months to max 1 year). Although there is always some sort of "Ermessensspielraum" and exceptions can be made, not only for sickness or tragedies rather for bright students as well. But unfortunately the Ausländerbehörde has decided to be stubborn in this case. Nevertheless I was given two following options to continue with my PhD that either
I bring a "Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter Vertrag" from the University, which in my case not possible since I have a scholarship and have permission to work for only 10 hours (max upto 450 Euros) beside the scholarship. Stipend will be cancelled in case of signing any contract of more than 10 hours. 
                                                               OR