Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Visa Questions

RE: Is it allowed with EU Blue Card Germany working in other EU contries?

Toggle
Hello,

I am a Canadian citisen and I have been working in Germany for 7-8 months with the EU Blue Card program working in IT field.
My wife, our daughter and my stepson applied for a visa and my step son was refused a visa because by German law my wife who has a custody over the child needs a full custody documet or in other words for my step sons biological father to gice up his son fully in the court again whic is in some countries not possible by law.
There was a law in Germany that was supposed to be passed on 01.07.2013 then this document would not be needed but the law has not been passed and the officer told me he doesnt know when or if it will be passed and many people are waiting for it.
Now my wife doesnt want to stay without her son and I can not stay here without my family.
I was told by the officer that after 19 months I am allowed to applie for unrestricted work and residence permit with the proof of German language knowlege of B1.
My question is if I stay and get my ulimited work and residence permit on the grounds of EU Blue Card Germany am I than allowed to work in other EU countries or just in Germany???
If Germany doesnt pass this law I would like to move to Austria then because they have already passed this law that stepkids can join their faimilies.
Will I be able to work with this germany EU work and settlment permit in Austria or do I have the repet the whole püroces of getting a temporary work permit?