Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Visa Questions

help for dependent visa ( for two years) for spouse

Toggle
Hello everybody,

I am a guest scientist at Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research at Katlenburg-Lindau, Germany. I joined the institute recently on 02 July, 2012 and my duration of stay in Germany would be two years from the date of joining. Now my wife  (currently in India) wish to come to Germany on dependent visa to stay with me for the remaining period of my stay, which would be few months less than two years. She has visa interview appointment at the German Embassy in New Delhi on 01 August, 2012 (Wednesday). I have few questions regarding the required documents for her dependent visa application.

1. RATION CARD: Before joining Max Planck institute in Germany, I lived in USA for five years. After marriage, my wife was also living with me in USA. We left USA on 26 February, 2012 and came to India for a short visit to spend some time with my other family members before joining Max Planck Institute in Germany. Since we stayed in India temporarily between leaving USA and joining the institute in Germany and lived in USA before that, we do not have current ration card.  Can the requirement of the ration card be waived in this case? The only ration card that she can show is her parent's ration card on which she is listed as one of the family member before marriage.