Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Visa Questions

Re: What are my chances for a Green Card?

Toggle
What are my chances for a Green Card?
Answer
9/21/04 11:45 PM
Hello all,

I am a 32-years-old turkish mechanical engineer who has been specialized in the IT-area. I have several training certificates on SAP_R3 Logistics moduls and obtained a Microsoft Certified Solution Developer certificate (MCSD) in Feb 2004. I also have a 4 months of experience over a fully functional MRP (manufacturing resource planning) program.
In Berlin I have learned german within only 8 months and "jezt kann ich fast alle deutsche Texte problemlos verstehen und im Alltag kann ich mich fließend ausdrucken"
I haven't actually tried it yet but I believe I could confidently speak german in business life, too.

Next to my mechanical engineering experience in the automotive field, I have an operating knowledge on many environments, especially on "Microsoft Solution Framework" and have a deep interest in mobiles technologies like "Symbian" and the "Windows Mobile".

I have learned from german news that the GC application deadline is extended until 31.12.2004. That means within a reasonable time if I can find an employer I hold a chance to get this very-much-talked-about green card, don't I?

It also sounds like that the German companies still keep on demanding IT-workers. Otherwise they would have stopped it on September 2003 as it was initially planned.

Under these circumstances I want to give it a try and seriously begin searching a job in Germany. Do you think it's worth it?