Our forum is the right place for exchanging infos, searching for help or helping others. Meanwhile there are many thousand posts, so please use our 'Search' function if you are looking for a special topic. 

Because the forum is used more often for unauthorized advertising, we have decided to close it for new posts.

Who still wants to browse the old posts can do this with pleasure.

Visa Questions

Re: Permanent Residency

Toggle
Permanent Residency
Answer
11/2/05 3:26 PM
Hi,

I wanted to confirm something that I heard recently, but first an introduction.
I studied in Germany for 3 years and have been working now for 3 years as a "skilled labour" on a Green Card. I have been in Germany for a total of 6 years now.

I am now interested in the German permanent residency status. I am already aware of the 60 months social contribution rule, but heard from a colleague recently that 50% of the time spent here as a student can also be added to the 60 months.

If this is true, then I am eligible for a permanent residency status after 6 months as
University contribution = 1.5 years and Work = 3.5 years.

Is this true? Is the information about the 50% rule true? Can someone please provide some insight into this issue?
Thanks a lot in advance!!
0 (0 Votes)

Answer
11/2/05 3:37 PM as a reply to John Smith.
Dunno if it's true but if you've been on GC before January 1st this year, then the 60 months pension thing doesn't apply to you.

You can go straight away and apply for a NE.

D.
0 (0 Votes)

Answer
11/2/05 3:52 PM as a reply to John Smith.
Thanks for the prompt reply. What you have said is also news to me. I thought that everyone is affected by the new law!!!!! I got my Green Card (GC) in 2002 for 5 years and have an "unbefristet vertrag" (unlimited contract) from my company. Forgot to give this information earlier. Anybody else?
0 (0 Votes)

Answer
11/2/05 4:21 PM as a reply to John Smith.
I can understand that it's new for you, you've been around T7 since today ;)